Wait, Stop Here – Photo Zine #1 is here!

Well, it’s finally finished and out in the world. My first photo zine! I’ve been working on and obsessing over this thing for a couple of months now and i’m seriously stoked to have it done. It’s 24 pages and features 21 black and white photos that i’ve taken over the last year since I moved to Michigan. For this first issue, I decided to use only iphone photos. I use that camera the most thought it would be cool to see some of those photos brought to life. The hardest part of this whole process has been narrowing it down to 20 something photos. I literally had thousands to choose from. Only being able to pick photos i’ve taken in the last year made it a little easier but it took a lot of hours and a lot of stress nonetheless.

I’ve really been dying to put one of these out for a long time, for a number of reasons. The first and main reason being a need to just put a physical product out into the world. With Instagram, Flickr, Tumblr, etc., it’s so easy to just become an “internet photographer” and forget about the world outside of the computer and an iphone. The digital routine becomes so tiring because it allows me (and everyone else) to pump out a million photos a day that each gets their own 5 minutes of fame and then become buried in a feed just as quickly. What has probably been the most rewarding part of this project and what makes me want to do these on a regular basis from now on is the fact that I spent so much time with each photo. Picking each photo apart, deciding if it was worthy of print or not was time well spent. A much needed feeling of validation has come from holding the final product in my hand, flipping through the pages and pretending i’ve never seen the photos before in my life.

The second reason for doing this zine is that like any other artist, I want others to own and enjoy my work. I’ve been taking photos and doing graphic design for something like 4 or 5 years now and even now I can’t see myself being someone who sells prints for hundreds of dollars. The idea definitely sounds nice, but I just can’t picture it in my head. Maybe in the future. Making zines and buttons and printing 11×17 posters which I will be doing soon) are a cheap way to get my stuff out there without having to charge an arm and a leg. I like making stuff that I would want to own. The DIY culture is a great thing because it allows people to get their ideas out there in an affordable way.

Anyways, hope you enjoy! And stay tuned for more zines and things in the near future.

Visit my online store HERE.

Leave a Reply

